Cooper grabs first win of AMS season in Limited Sportsman

Photo by Scott Chancey

Photo by Scott Chancey

ALBANY -- The Albany Motor Speedway raced for the second time of the 2010 season this past Saturday night as Pratt Cooper, pictured above, earned his first win of the year coming in the Limited Sportsman Division.

But Cooper's win was just part of the excitement last Saturday as AMS set one heck of a stage with five different classes -- one being the National Late Model Series. Ray Miller and his crew rolled into the race way with 25 Dirt track Late Models. Fans would be wowed as they would watch three-wide racing in all classes. The main event of the night was the NLMS 25 car field putting on a unforgettable night action packed race, but ultimately well-known racer William Thomas would claim the checkered flag and $4,OOO in prize money.

In the other local classes, Billy Joe Boyette won the Mini Stock Division; Daniel Thomson won the Enduro Division and Michael Canady won the Pure Stock race.

Racing resumes Saturday.

EDITOR'S NOTE: Results only from this event were run in this past Monday's Herald. This was just a follow-up article to feature the photo of the winner and look ahead to next week.

This recap can normally be found in Monday's editions because AMS races late in Saturday night.