Bainbridge College names search committee

BAINBRIDGE -- The newly appointed Bainbridge College Presidential Search and Screen Committee will have its first meeting at 2 p.m. Friday at the campus' Kirbo Center Board Room.

Regent Doreen Stiles Poitevint and Rob Watts, chief operating officer of the University System of Georgia, are scheduled to give the committee its formal charge at the organizational meeting.

A national search will be conducted to replace outgoing Bainbridge President Thomas A. Wilkerson, who is retiring at the end of the year. Wilkerson has served as Bainbridge president since 2005 and began his higher education career in 1968 at Middle Georgia College.

At Friday's meeting, Poitevint will outline for the committee the duties and responsibilities associated with its role in Bainbridge College's presidential search. The committee will be charged with developing a position description, placing announcements in appropriate national media outlets and conducting on-campus interviews.

Tonya Strickland, chair of the Division of Learning Support and interim chair of the Division of Arts and Sciences at Bainbridge College, will chair the search committee. Other committee members are David Pollock, instructional technology specialist at Bainbridge College; Joan Simpson, director of the college's Early County Center; Michael Kirkland, an assistant professor of history at Bainbridge College; Ann Brannen, an assistant professor of technical mathematics at the c ollege; Amy Wells, a mathematics instructor at Bainbridge College; Bainbridge Mayor Edward Reynolds; Luther Conyers Jr., a Bainbridge City Council member; Glennie Bench, chief financial officer of Southwest Georgia Oil Company; and a student representative to be announced shortly.

The campus-based committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to a Special Regents Search Committee for the second phase of the search. Regents Richard L. Tucker, Benjamin Tarbutton III, Larry R. Ellis and Board of Regents Chair Robert F. Hatcher will serve as members of the special search committee, chaired by Regent Poitevint. This committee is responsible for recommending finalists to Chancellor Erroll B. Davis Jr., who will make a recommendation to the full Board of Regents.