15 DCSS meet Adequate Yearly Progress

ALBANY -- Dougherty County School System had 15 its 26 school meet Adequate Yearly Progress, according to the official statewide first-round results released by the Georgia Department of Education this afternoon.

Last year, Dougherty had 20 schools meet AYP after the first round.

The 15 Dougherty County schools that made AYP for 2010 after the first-round were elementary schools Alice Coachman, International Studies Charter, Lake Park, Lamar Reese, Lincoln, Live Oak, Magnolia, Northside, Radium Springs, Sherwood and Sylvester Road. Dougherty, Merry Acres and Robert Cross were the middle schools that made it and Westover Comprehensive was the lone high school to meet AYP.

Albany, Dougherty and Monroe high schools didn't meet AYP. Albany, Radium Springs and Southside middle schools also didn't achieve AYP. Elementary schools Jackson Heights, Martin Luther King Jr., Morningside, Turner and West Town did not make AYP either.

Lee County High School and Lee County High School Ninth Grade Campus also didn't make AYP, but the other five schools in the Lee County School System did.

Worth County, Mitchell and Terrell high schools all didn't meet AYP either.

Worth County Middle and Primary School did meet AYP, Mitchell's Baconton Charter, middle school, North Mitchell and South Mitchell also made AYP. Terrell's Cooper Primary, Carver Elementary and Terrell Middle all made AYP.

Herald Librarian Mary Braswell contributed to this report.