Duffy, Stone, Fullerton win new terms of office

Photo by Casey Dixon

Photo by Casey Dixon

ALBANY, Ga. -- With all votes counted, incumbents fared well in Dougherty and Lee counties, but saw problems in two other metro Albany counties -- Worth and Terrell.

In Lee County, the County Commission Chairman ed Duffy won a new four-year term representing the Palmyra District. He defeated challenger Lester Leggette, 869-349.

In Dougherty, freshman state Rep. Carol Fullerton, D-Albany, won a new two-year term in the Georgia House representing District 151. She took 57.45 percent of the vote, defeating challenger Freddy Grimsley 1,769-1310.

In District 6 on the Dougherty County Commission, Jack Stone defeated challenger Richard Thomas by taking 54.3 percent of the vote. Stone was named on 722 ballots and Thomas received 608 votes.

District 6 on the Dougherty School Board had no incumbent running. Darrel Ealum was the winner there with a 736-618 advantage over Dean Phinazee.

Milton Griffin, the incumbent, won the Democratic primary over challenger Sherrell Byrd with 63.5 percent of the vote. Griffin got 999 votes to Byrd's 574. Griffin now faces Republic Donnie Smith in the Nov. 2 general election.

In Worth County, voters approved a new special-purpose local-option sales tax. They also rejected District 2 Commissioner Fred Dent, who was defeated by Max Sutton. In District 4, former commissioner Billy McDonald reclaimed a seat by beating John Kopke.

In Terrell County, in District 2 County Commission candidate Ernest Johnson ousted incumbent Larry Atherton. County Commission District 3 will have a Democratic runoff between Larry Faust and incumbent Van Phillips. District 4 will also see a runoff between Democratic candidates Melvin Gilley and Brad Stafford.