Albany's Lopez to be honored at 2011 Memorial

Photo by Danny Aller

Photo by Danny Aller

DUBLIN, Ohio -- Every year, PGA Tour legend Jack Nicklaus' Memorial Tournament picks one legendary player to honor during that year's event -- as well as announcing next year's honoree before the weekend ends.

And the 2011 player is none other than Albany's Nancy Lopez.

Lopez turned pro in 1977 and collected 48 LPGA Tour wins -- including three majors -- and was the 1978, '79, '85 and '88 LPGA Player of the Year. This year's honoree was Seve Ballesteros, who has been battling brain cancer for more than a year now, while past honorees have included Bobby Jones, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer and Gary Player.

Lopez, however, is just the ninth women's golfer to be honored since the tournament started in 1976 and will be the second in three years.

JoAnne Carter was chosen in 2009.