Breaking News

Mark Richt out as Georgia football coach November 29, 2015


UGA, Georgia Tech stars make watch lists

Photo by Mike Phillips

Photo by Mike Phillips

ATHENS -- Georgia senior Clint Boling and junior Ben Jones were named Tuesday to the Outland Trophy Watch List, while junior Justin Houston was listed on the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List, according to recent announcements from the Football Writers Association of America.

Boling, an Alpharetta native, and Jones, a Centreville, Ala., native, were two of 63 offensive and defensive tackles, offensive guards and centers named to this year's Outland Trophy Watch List and two of 11 players from the Southeastern Conference.

The FWAA All-America Committee will select three finalists in late November and eventually the overall winner.

A two-time All-SEC performer at a variety of positions on the offensive line, Boling started all 13 games for the Bulldogs in 2009, including the final six at left tackle. He led an offense that racked up 1,216 yards rushing and 11 rushing touchdowns during the final five games of the year last season.

Jones has played in all 26 games at center during his two-year career and has started 23 consecutive contests. The 6-3, 300-pound center was named to the All-SEC Second Team following the 2009 season.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football.

The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, an All-American lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 9.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 13 in Omaha, Neb.

Houston, a native of Statesboro, is one of 74 players named to the Nagurski Trophy Watch List and one of 12 from the SEC. The 6-3, 260-pound defensive end was named to the All-SEC Second Team after starting all 10 games he played in last year and leading the team with 15.0 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks. Houston is the top returning player in the league in both of those categories.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 6 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2010 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award.

Boling and Houston have already been named to the Lombardi Award Watch List while Jones was included on the Rimington Award Watch List.

TECH'S BEDFORD ON OUTLAND LIST: Georgia Tech senior center Sean Bedford, a former walk-on who emerged in 2009 as the first team All-ACC center, was named to the preseason watch list for the Outland Trophy by the FWAA.

Bedford earned the starting job at center in the spring of 2009 and went on to start all 14 games last season. A two-time ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week, Bedford helped Georgia Tech lead the ACC in rushing offense and total offense.

No Georgia Tech player has ever won the Outland Trophy, although Craig Page was a finalist in 1998.

Bedford, an aerospace engineer major, is one of 12 centers on the watch list. Also on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, Bedford is one of 11 players from the ACC on the Outland Trophy watch list.

Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh won the Outland Trophy last season.