ASU recognizes top students, faculty during Honors Day

Photo by Avan Clark

Photo by Avan Clark

ALBANY, Ga. -- Albany State University acknowledged its "best and brightest" at its Honors Day Convocation ceremony at the HPER Gymnasium Friday morning.

Seong Seo won the university's Researcher of the Year, Gloria Drake earned the Employee of the Year award and Cynthia Rand-Johnson captured the Teacher of the Year crown.

The event recognized students and staff in several areas, including honor societies and students, students with high grade-point averages and department awards.

Joseph Edward Duffy, Mai JaNai Mance, Lomiesha Sabre Paul, Cornelius O'Neil Shelton, Kei'Shawn Latorra Tention and Marquise Ravone Walker were acknowledged as the highest ranking students (4.0 GPAs).

"It's always important to recognize students who have done well and who have distinguished themselves as scholars for their hard work," said Leroy Bynum, dean for the College of Arts and Humanities. "It's important that we at Albany State continue to inform our community that we are all about the pursuit of academic excellence and that we have those students here and look forward to them continuing to do well the rest of their lives."

Albany Civil Rights Institute Executive Director Lee Formwalt was the keynote speaker at the event. Formwalt was a faculty member at ASU from 1977 to 1999.

"Learn something new every day," Formwalt told the crowd of more than 300 people. "I'm 60 years old and I still learn something new every day."