Ga. Tech, Auburn chosen as NCAA host sites

Photo by Danny Aller

Photo by Danny Aller

ATLANTA - Georgia Tech was selected Sunday as one of 16 NCAA Baseball Tournament regional sites.

The four-team field for the Atlanta Regional, which will be played at Tech's Russ Chandler Stadium, will be announced today at 12:30 p.m. on ESPN. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, to Monday, June 7.

Georgia Tech, 45-13 after going 1-2 in the ACC Tournament earlier this week, will make its 24th NCAA Tournament appearance in the last 26 years and its 26th NCAA appearance overall.

Russ Chandler Stadium will host a regional for the eighth time in the last 11 years. Georgia Tech will host NCAA postseason play for the 11th time overall.

The Yellow Jackets will host a regional for the second straight year, losing last year to Southern Mississippi in the championship round. Five times Tech has won a regional that it has hosted, advancing to a Super Regional. Twice -- in 2002 and 2006 -- the Yellow Jackets went on to the College World Series after hosting a regional.

Tech is 24-15 all-time when hosting a regional, and the Yellow Jackets are 59-51 all-time in NCAA Tournament play overall.

Georgia Tech is one of three ACC school's awarded regional sites, joining Virginia and Miami. The SEC led all conferences with four host selections.



The Southeastern Conference had four schools -- Arkansas, Auburn, Florida and South Carolina -- selected Sunday as hosts for the NCAA Division I baseball tournament.

The Atlantic Coast Conference, with Georgia Tech, Miami and Virginia, had three schools chosen as sites for the four-team, double-elimination regionals, which start next week.

Other hosts include: Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Coastal Carolina, Connecticut, Louisville, Oklahoma, Texas, TCU and UCLA. All games will be played on campus sites, except for the regionals at Coastal Carolina and Connecticut.

The games at Coastal Carolina will be in Myrtle Beach, S.C., at BB&T Coastal Field, home of the Atlanta Braves' Carolina League affiliate. The regional hosted by Connecticut will be played at Dodd Stadium, the home ballpark of the Detroit Tigers' New York-Penn League team in Norwich, Conn.

All 16 host schools are assured of spots in the 64-team tournament, with the rest of the field to be announced by the Division I baseball committee today.

Texas, ranked No. 1 in several polls throughout the season, is hosting for the 25th time. Louisville, TCU and UCLA are hosting for the second time.

Arizona State, Cal State Fullerton, Florida, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Oklahoma, Texas and TCU also hosted last season.

Each of the 16 regional winners advance to the super regionals, with the eight remaining teams earning trips to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., beginning

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records are as follows: Arizona State (47-8), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (40-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Auburn (40-19), Auburn, Ala.; Cal State Fullerton (40-15 through Saturday, May 29), Fullerton, Calif.; Coastal Carolina (51-7), Conway, S.C.; Connecticut (47-14), Storrs, Conn.; Florida (42-15), Gainesville, Fla.; Georgia Tech (45-13), Atlanta; Louisville (48-12), Louisville, Ky.; Miami (Florida) (40-17), Coral Gables, Fla.; Oklahoma (44-15), Norman, Okla.; South Carolina (43-15), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (46-11), Austin, Texas; TCU (46-11), Fort Worth, Texas; UCLA (42-13), Los Angeles; Virginia (47-11), Charlottesville, Va.