Posey, Heyward highlight Topps Rookie All-Star team

Photo by Daniel Kay

Photo by Daniel Kay

The Topps Company announced its 52nd Annual Major League Rookie All-Star Team on Monday, and Georgia's own Buster Posey and Jason Heyward made the list.

Posey, the National League Rookie of the Year, took the catcher's spot after hitting 18 home runs and 67 RBI during the 2010 season for the San Francisco Giants, while Heyward took one of the outfielder spots after hitting 18 homers and 72 RBI for the Atlanta Braves.

Posey hit .305 in 108 games during the regular season, and Heyward hit .277 in 142 games.

Also making the team on the offensive side wer Florida 1B Gaby Sanchez (151 games, 19 HR, 85 RBI, .273), Pittsburgh 2B Neil Walker (10, 12, 66, .296), Minnesota 3B Danny Valencia (85, 7, 40, .311), Chicago Cubs SS Starlin Castro (125, 3, 41, .300), Detroit OF Austin Jackson, (151, 4, 41, .293) and Florida OF Mike Stanton (100, 22, 59, .259).

For the pitchers, Washington RHP Stephen Strasburg (68 IP, 5-3, 2.91 ERA, 92 K, 17 BB) made the list, along with St. Louis LHP Jaime Garcia (163.1 IP, 13-8, 2.70, 132 K, 64 BB) and Texas reliever Neftali Feliz (69.1 IP, 40 Saves, 2,73, 71 K, 18 BB).

The Topps Major League Rookie All-Star team began in 1959 with Willie McCovey being the first of 17 future Hall of Famers named to the squad. Others include Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken, Ryne Sandberg, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams. The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on his 2011 trading card in Topps Baseball, with Series One due out in early February.