DCSS OKs redistricting map

Photo by Casey Dixon

Photo by Casey Dixon

ALBANY, Ga. -- The Dougherty County School Board narrowly approved a redrawn map of its six commission districts Monday on a 4-3 vote.

Voting for the map were Chairman James Bush and board members David Maschke, Velvet Riggins and Carol Tharin. Vice Chair Anita Williams-Brown and members Milton Griffin and Darrel Ealum voted against the map.

The map that passed muster was submitted by a joint committee of school board members and Dougherty County commissioners and was created by redistricting expert Linda Meggers.

It's the same map that was approved by the County Commission last Monday during that body's regular meeting and is an adjusted version of the current map that accounts for population changes seen mainly in the northwest and northeast sections of the county.

Before the vote, Ealum said he wanted the board to consider redrawing the lines near District 2 and District 6 to allow part of a neighborhood in the Radium Springs area south of Holly Drive to be drawn into his district.

Griffin, who would've lost the neighborhood had Ealum's move been granted, told board members he had a lot of supporters in that neighborhood and thought he should keep it.

The maps have been posted on both the DCSS website and the Dougherty County Commission's website.