Westover’s Green, Albany’s Morris, Monroe’s Stafford, Bainbridge’s Wilburn earn top end-of-the-year region honors

ALBANY — It was a big year for several area high school football players, and when the all-region teams were announced this week, Albany High two-way lineman Jontavious Morris, Westover defensive lineman Chris Green, Monroe sophomore quarterback Charles Stafford, and Bainbridge defensive tackle Samaii Wilburn were all singled out as the top players in their region.

Green was named the Region 1-AAA Defensive Player of the Year and Stafford was named Region 1-AAA’s co-Offensive Player of the Year along with Cairo quarterback Steven Bench.

Morris was named the co-Defensive Player of the Year in Region 1-AA as he led the Indians on both sides of the line and rarely missed a play. Morris shared the honor with Brooks County’s E.J. Shipman.

Wilburn helped lead Bainbridge to the playoffs and was named the Region 1-AAAA Defensive Player of the Year.

Region 1-AA

Albany High had five players named to the First Team. Roscoe Byrd (DT), Calvin Jackson (LB), Andrico Carter (DB), Elliott Martin (DB) and Rantiez Williams (TE) were all First-Teamers.

Early County had two first team selections as Landonis Bryant (RB) and Willie Ware (DL) were both named to the First Team.

Region 1-AAA

Monroe had five players named to the All-Region 1-AAA first team, Worth County had four and Westover and Americus-Sumter each had three players named to the First Team.

Monroe’s Noel Devine (RB), Hakeem Porter (OL), Terevious Hudson (WR), Vantrell McMillan (DL), and Anthony Smith (LB) were all named to the First Team

Westover’s Dalviness Greene (RB), Devin Swann (OL) and Don Mills (LB) were also named to the First Team.

Worth County’s Dantavious Jones (DL), Devin Gibson (OL), Lavantae Robinson (DB) and Savon Farley (returner) were named to the First Team, and Americus-Sumter’s Bryce Benton (QB), Shykieth Johnson (DL), and Martina Reese (DB) were also FirstTeam selections.

Region 1-AAAA

Lee County sophomore receiver Josh Cabrera was selected to the Region 1-AAAA First Team — the only Trojan to earn that honor — and Bainbridge had two other defensive players named to the Region 1-AAAA First Team as Rodney Glenn (DB) and Daryl McGhee (DE) made the first team along with Wilburn.