Four commissioners swear oaths to start 2011 (Video added)

ALBANY, Ga.-- Four Dougherty County commissioners received and recited the oath of office for their positions from Dougherty County Probate Judge Nancy Stephenson Monday, during the body's first official meeting of 2011.

Commission Chairman Jeff "Bodine" Sinyard, Commissioner Jack Stone, Commissioner John Hayes and Commissioner-elect Ewell Lyle each swore the oath at the start of Monday's meeting.

Lyle, a Republican, is the only fresh face on the commission, taking the seat formerly held by Commissioner Chuck Lingle, who retired at the end of his term last month.

Lyle and Sinyard both ran unopposed for their seats while Hayes and Stone defeated Republican challengers to hold onto their seats for another four years.

Stone, who is starting his 24th year on the commission, is currently the longest-serving member on the commission.

The commission's vice chair also rotated to another commissioner Monday. For the next year, Commissioner Muarlean Edwards will serve in that capacity and preside over the meetings in the absence of Sinyard. Hayes formerly held the position.

The vice-chair position rotates numerically among commissioners and changes on the first meeting of each year.