Five Bulldogs, including Seminole County's Rambo, named to national watch lists

Photo by Danny Aller

Photo by Danny Aller

ATHENS --- Late last week, University of Georgia senior cornerback Brandon Boykin and junior safety Bacarri Rambo -- a native of Donalsonvile and former Seminole County star -- were named to the College Football Performance Awards Defensive Back Trophy Watch List.

Then Tuesday, Boykin's name dotted another list when he was selected to the Bednarik Award Watch List -- presented each year to the nation's top defensive player.

Boykin, a native of Fayetteville, finished the 2010 season with 44 tackles, including 6.5 tackles for loss, and tied for the team lead with three interceptions. Boykin is Georgia's active leader with six career picks. He has started 24 games during the last two seasons as cornerback for the Bulldogs.

Boykin is also one of 38 players on the CFPA's Kickoff Returner Watch List. UGA's leader in career kickoff return yards with 1,813, Boykin is the only player in SEC history to have three 100-yard plays of any kind.

Rambo also had three interceptions last season, including one that he returned 39 yards for a touchdown against Idaho State. Rambo started all 13 games at safety and is the top returning tackler after recording 82 stops in 2010, which was second on the team behind NFL draftee Akeem Dent (126).

The CFPA's offensive watch lists were also released Tuesday as UGA senior tight end Aron White, junior tight end Orson Charles and redshirt sophomore quarterback Aaron Murray were all named to the lists at their respective positions.

Senior place-kicker Blair Walsh and senior punter Drew Butler had previously been named to individual 2011 watch lists for the CFPA.

Murray was also named on the same day to the Maxwell Award Watch List -- an award given to America's most outstanding collegiate football player since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.

Georgia's Charley Trippi (1946) and Herschel Walker (1982) are the only two Bulldogs to have won the Maxwell Award.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik awards will be announced Oct. 31 and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 21. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell and Bednarik awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held Dec. 8.

Murray, a native of Tampa, Fla., was tabbed a Freshman All-American following last season when he set a UGA freshman record with 3,049 passing yards, which ranks second in SEC history for freshmen. Murray's passing efficiency of 154.48 was also the best in the country among all freshmen quarterbacks and second best in school history among all quarterbacks.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. A former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, Chuck Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67. David Pollack is the only Bulldog to win the Bednarik Award, earning the honor in 2004.

White and Charles, who have 32 starts between them at tight end, are two of only four players from the Southeastern Conference on the 39-man Tight End Watch List.

Murray, meanwhile, is one of only four SEC players on the 40-man Quarterback Watch List.

White, a native of Columbia, Mo., appeared in all 13 games last season and finished with nine catches for 125 yards. He graduated in December 2010 with a degree in Management and was the commencement speaker for the undergraduate ceremonies. White is now pursuing a graduate degree at UGA.

Charles, a native of Tampa, Fla., is the second-leading returning receiver for the Bulldogs after starting 12 of 13 games in 2010. Charles, Murray's high school teammate at Plant High School, hauled in 26 catches for 422 yards and a pair of touchdowns last year and has already been named the nation's fifth-best tight end by Lindy's Chicken earlier this preseason.

Former Bulldog Justin Houston was named the CFPA's National Linebacker of the Year following the 2010 season.