Panel created to re-form Miller School Board

COLQUITT -- Gov. Nathan Deal has signed an executive order to establish a panel to select nominees to replace members removed the Miller County School Board.

The Miller School Board nominating committee will include three members of the state Board of Education, including Elizabeth J. Ragsdale, the member who represents the 2nd Congressional District that includes Miller County. Ragsdale retired from Darton College as chair of both the Division of Humanities and the Division of Learning Support and has experience teaching kindergarten, middle school, high school and post-secondary levels.

The Georgia Board of Education chair will select two more members and the Georgia School Superintendent John D. Barge will serve as an ex officio member.

The action derives from the state School Board's recommendation that the governor remove and replace all members of the Miller County School Board.


myside 1 year, 11 months ago

This action is going to prolong the wait for a decent school board to be activated. It will also take the local citizens out of the process this time. Miller County only has one school so the practice of electing members without their being elected on a county wide vote must stop.


justme 1 year, 11 months ago

This is what needs to happen to the DCSS.


Jacob 1 year, 11 months ago

It will. They can't help themselves..


Sign in to comment