Albany Tech recognizes more than 100 during Honors Day ceremony

Some of the more than 100 students who were recognized during Albany Technical College's Annual Honors Day on Tuesday.

Some of the more than 100 students who were recognized during Albany Technical College's Annual Honors Day on Tuesday.

ALBANY, Ga. — Albany Technical College recognized more than 100 students Tuesday morning during the college’s annual Honors Day ceremony.

Ivey Norton (dental assisting student) was ATC’s GOAL (Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership) winner for this year.

This program recognizes exceptional technical college students from across the state for their academic excellence and personal achievement. Norton competed in Atlanta at the state level for GOAL in April and was one of four finalists to place.

The college also recognized 22 Presidential Scholars (GPA’s of 3.95-4.0) and 24 students who earned Honors with Distinction (GPA’s of 3.75-3.94).

Presidential Scholars are Fannie Anthony, Michael Banks, Travis Boone, John Collett, Jeffrey Davis, Ryan Davis, Carlyle Diaz, Christopher Dunn, Zaneta Floyd, Darron Harpe, Christopher Head, Jacqueline Holland, Roy Hunter, David Joiner, Frances Pearson, Jason Pickle, Erika Pitts, Bessie Reggans-Bolden, Almaria Shelton, Louise Teemer, Jeremiah Tiller and Richard Tindell.

Honors with Distinction recipients are Neil Anderson, Vashon Anderson, Tamala Arnett, Sarah Arnold, Laconta Barnes, Dougie Batchelor, Jeleisa Bell, Bernita Benton, Byron Botdorf, Carlos Clayton, April Cleghorn, Lauren Cooper, Shane Davis, Maria Diaz, Donald Dominey, Isheka Ellison, William Fowler, Natasha Gilbert, Alyssa Glover, Willie Greene, Fonda Grissom-Hunter, Bobby Hall, Michael Hall, Cheryhl Hill, Kelvin Jackson, Marvin Jackson, Wendy Johnson, Shirley Jones, O’Jae Jordan, Bethany Lindsey, Cameren Littleton, Jacquelyn Lowery, Lula Marshall, Marcus Mathis, Adrienne Mitchell, Robert Newton, Lillie Parker, Bryan Paul, Samuel Pawley, Jo Peters, Curtis Phillip, Kimbrell Pinkins, Mable Ransom, Joseph Rogers, Robyn Routhier-Tabb, Vivian Sheppard, Martavian Silas, Walter Snow, Krispin Stoutt, Caleb Stoyle, Amanda Taylor, Lakesha Thomas, Robert Thompson, Artis Watson, Donna Webb, Marcello Whitfield, Marcus Williams, Niquacha Williford, Larry Wilson, Kindrick Wright and Ulysses Zackery.

There were five students honored for being inducted into the National Technical Honors Society (NTHS), which is one of technical education’s most prestigious honors. Students must have at least a 3.6 GPA for at least two consecutive quarters of course work and no grade lower than a B to qualify for induction.

Twelve students who earned their GEDs were also recognized after obtaining the highest test scores in their respective counties.

The College will hold its Fall Commencement Exercise Friday at 7 p.m. at the Albany Civic Center.