Final prep football All-Star game of season set for today in Moultrie

MOULTRIE — Area high school football senior stars will pull on their uniforms one more time this season when they participate in the War of the Border Florida-Georgia All-Star Game.

The game will kick off at 2 p.m. today at Tom White Field at Mack Tharpe Stadium and will be similar to the one held at the stadium last year, although it will be operated by a different group.

Area prep stars playing in War of the Border game

LEE COUNTY: Thomas Wright (LB/RB); Ryen Stricklind (C).

SEMINOLE COUNTY: Chris Brown (RB/LB/S); Dee Virgin (CB/RB/KR); Barren Rambo (FB/LB); Desmond Wright (DE/OL); Howard Stephens (TE/DE); Andrew Ingram (LB/OL).

MILLER COUNTY: Ty Sheffield (OL/DL); Alec Cobb (OL/LB); Adrian Hayes (WR/DB).

TERRELL COUNTY: Dekoven Ware (DE).

MITCHELL COUNTY: Grover Stewart (DT); Tevin Watkins (DT); Kedric Jones (WR).

EARLY COUNTY: Clarence Taylor (DL).

SGA: Nathan Lingo (LB/WR); Dillon Driver (QB); Van Harrell (LB/DE).

BAINBRIDGE: Samaii Wilburn (DT/DE); Tarow Barney (DT/DE); Anthony Jackson (DE/TE); Quincy Fortner (DB/WR);

DEERFIELD: Gaughf Ivey (DB).

DOUGHERTY: Amaud Ross (WR/DB); Kenneth Jackson (DB); Brian Bailey (OL); Dominque Bryant (C); Malcolm Barney (DL).

PELHAM: Robert Dill (OL/DL); Nathaniel Harvey (OL/DL); Elijah Haywood (DB/WR); Ken Douglas (DL/OL).

COLQUITT COUNTY: Stacey Blackwell (DB); Anthony Brumbley (LB); Tre Cooper (RB/WR); Dondray Copeland (DB); E’Darius Davis (DB); Wayne Jackson (DE); Da’Quan Nelson (DE); Brett Smith (DT); Taveras Ward (WR); Sharmaine Washington (LB); Willie Woodyard (RB).

This year the game will be put on by Mike Gammons, who sponsored the eighth-grade football championship game held the last two years. It was played in Moultrie this past season.

The War of the Border game will feature a team of Southwest Georgia All-Stars against a team from the Tallahassee-North Florida area.

The game is open to seniors, primarily ones still trying to impress recruiters and get a chance to play at the next level.

Colquitt County’s Class AAAAA Final Four team will have the most players in the game with 11.

Thomasville High’s Richie Marsh is the Georgia team’s head coach, while his assistants will be Colquitt County’s Gregg Segraves, Thomasville’s Chuck King, Cairo’s Davis Johnson, Early County’s Trey Wolff and John Randolph, Seminole County’s Alan Ingram and Thomas County Central’s Joe Dollar and Freddie Bryant.

Also on the 68-player Georgia team’s roster are players from Lee County, Seminole County, Miller County, Terrell County, Mitchell County, Early County, Southwest Georgia Academy, Bainbridge, TCC, Trinity, Deerfield-Windsor, Dougherty, Cairo, Thomasville and Pelham.

Florida’s head coach will be Mike Coe — and he should know the way to Moultrie.

The Madison County High head coach brought his Cowboys to town to play the Packers back in August and lost, 20-19, on an Oscar Luna field goal with seven seconds left.

It was one of just two losses for the Cowboys in 2011.

The 77-player Florida roster include players from Taylor County, Lincoln, North Florida Christian, Chiles, Liberty County, Rickards, Florida A&M High, Florida High, Jefferson County, Leon, Wakulla, East Gadsen, Godby, Bountstown and Maclay.

A number of college recruiters are expected to be on hand, including ones from Reinhardt University and Mercer University, both of which are starting football programs and will begin play in the fall of 2013.

Admission is $10 for adults and $5 for high school students. Children 6 and under will be admitted free.