Breaking News

Mark Richt out as Georgia football coach November 29, 2015


Leesburg's Bryan wins award

Luke Bryan performs his Top 5 hit "Drunk on You" at the CMT Music Awards in Nashville, Tenn.

Luke Bryan performs his Top 5 hit "Drunk on You" at the CMT Music Awards in Nashville, Tenn.

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Leesburg’s Luke Bryan didn’t want Wednesday night to end.

Bryan was awarded male video of the year for “I Don’t Want This Night To End” at the 2012 CMT Music Awards, which took place in Nashville Tenn. He also performed his current single “Drunk on You” during the show. The winner was selected by fan votes.

Luke took to twitter after the show to thank his fans for voting. "You guys have really made my life beyond any thing I ever could have imagined. Love yall."

And with it being an election year, it didn’t take long for the show to get political.

Unwilling to offend voters on either side of the aisle, both President Obama and his Republican challenger Mitt Romney refused to take sides in a co-host feud between Toby Keith and Kristen Bell.

The two candidates taped video segments to weigh in on the debate over who should actually host the show, but as you might expect from voter-minded politicians, both passed on actually making a decision.

“This is one of the toughest decisions I’ve had to make since I’ve been in office, but I decided I want them both,” Obama said.

Romney then also suggested they work as co-hosts and added, “See, I just put two people back to work.”

The hi-jinx continued when Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood won the first award, collaborative video of the year for “Remind Me.”

Upon hearing their names, Paisley leaped to his feet and wrapped his arms around Underwood’s hunky husband, NHL star Mike Fisher of the Nashville Predators.

Underwood heard her name called again later in the evening when the video for her song “Good Girl” won the night’s top honor, video of the year.

The state of Georgia had a good showing of winners, including Macon’s Jason Aldean and Lady Antebellum (members Dave Haywood and Charles Kelley hail from Augusta). Miranda Lambert and Scotty McCreery also took home awards.

Casey Dixon contributed to this story.