Qualifying is under way

Sheriff Kevin Sproul and Dougherty County Clerk of Court Evonne Mull complete the process of qualifying to run for re-election.

Sheriff Kevin Sproul and Dougherty County Clerk of Court Evonne Mull complete the process of qualifying to run for re-election.

ALBANY — As the sun set of the first official day of qualifying, most of the incumbents and many of the challengers to public offices had registered to officially be on the ballot.

In Dougherty County, incumbents Lamar Hudgins and Gloria Gaines qualfied for their respective county commission seats, as did Sheriff Kevin Sproul, Dougherty County Clerk Evonne Mull and Probate Judge Nancy Stephenson.

Dougherty County School Board Members Anita Williams-Brown and Chairman James Bush also qualified. Lane Price, who is challenging Williams-Brown, also penned her name to the books to be on the ballot, as did Robert Youngblood who is seeking to follow up a retiring David Maschke in the District 1 seat.

Magistrate Judge Victoria Darrisaw qualified to run for State Court judge, as did local attorney Christopher Warren. Both are vying for the seat held by State Court Judge John Salter, who is retiring when his term expires.

Judge Denise Marshall was the only superior court judge from Dougherty County to qualify Wednesday.

At the state level, State Represenative Carol Fullerton and her challenger, County Commissioner Muarlean Edwards, qualified to represent the people of the newly-named House District 153.

As did the area's senior House member, Rep. Winfred Dukes, and the only Republican state House member from the Metro Albany area, Rep. Ed Rynders.

State Senator Freddie Powell-Sims also qualified to return to the capitol as the representative of Senate District 12.

Dougherty District Attorney Greg Edwards also qualified to seek another term.

On the congressional side, Congressman Sanford Bishop, D-Albany, qualified to seek relection for his seat as the representative of the Second Congressional District of Georgia.

Rick Allen, a Columbus Republican, was the only one of three Republican challengers to Bishop to qualify Wednesday.

The qualifying period will continue until Friday at noon.

When the Lee County offices opened at 8:00 a.m. today, candidates were waiting in line to complete the qualifying process.

Candidates qualifying for Lee County Commission are as follows:

Rick Muggridge (I)- District 4

Frank Taylor - District 4

Bill Williams (I) - District 5

Mary Egler - District 2

Also in Lee County, Sheriff Reggie Rachals (I), Coroner Ronald Rowe, Probate Court Judge John Wheaton and Chief Magistrate Jim Thurman have qualified for re-election.

Check back for additional information throughout the day.


GOBEME 2 years, 10 months ago

Mr. Youngblood will be a much needed qualified asset to the Board of Education!!


KaosinAlbany 2 years, 10 months ago

So true! He has the financial background to help with their budget woes and he was also a principal at Westover for many years (he was principal when I went there). I just hope no one runs against him because he would be perfect for the position.


KaosinAlbany 2 years, 10 months ago

Vote Lamar Out! He gets offended when questioned and displayed his arrogance to the taxpayers the other day in the budget meeting. He really needs to go...


Sign in to comment