Four incumbents qualify in Leesburg

LEESBURG - The qualifying period to seek a spot on the Leesburg City Council has ended, and the only people to seek the four open spots were the incumbents.

Mayor Jim Quinn qualified to seek a district-at-large seat on the Council which expires at the end of this year.

Also qualifying to retain their seats are Judy Powell, Debra Long and Richard Bush.

Because no opposition surfaced, City Clerk Casey Moore said the city will advertise that fact and will not be required to bear the expense of having an election without challengers.