Albany Technical College recognizes nearly 100 students during Honors Day.

Nearly 100 are recognized at Albany Tech's Honors Day

Albany Technical College Student Government Association President Aamir Greene delivers some remarks Monday during Albany Tech’s 2013 Fall Honors Day Program at the school’s Kirkland Center. (Staff Photo: Terry Lewis)

Albany Technical College Student Government Association President Aamir Greene delivers some remarks Monday during Albany Tech’s 2013 Fall Honors Day Program at the school’s Kirkland Center. (Staff Photo: Terry Lewis)

ALBANY — Nearly 100 students who will be graduating in Albany Tech’s Fall Commencement Ceremony on Thursday were honored during ATC’s Fall 2013 Honors Day Program on Monday.

Albany Tech’s 2013 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) winner and the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) State GOAL winner, AAmir Greene, was one of the honorees. As the TCSG State GOAL winner for 2013, Greene has been traveling to other technical colleges and businesses throughout Georgia serving as the spokesperson for technical education in Georgia and sharing his story. He is scheduled to address the Georgia General Assembly in January.

“The past year has been a great experience for me,” Greene said. “As the state’s technical college ambassador I have had the opportunity to travel all over Georgia promoting all the opportunities that are available in a technical college environment while stressing the importance of education.”

The keynote speaker for the program was Kimberly Lee, Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness at Albany Tech. She joined the Albany Tech administration in June of this year.

Some of the Honorees recognized Monday were:

Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL)

The Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) program recognizes exceptional technical college students from across the state for their academic Excellence and personal achievement. The program also spotlights the important role of technical training in our economy.

AAmir Greene, ATC GOAL Student, TCSG State GOAL Winner

Student Government Association

Albany Technical College’s Student Government Association is comprised of a Senator and Alternate from each program of study. Each senator is recommended by the faculty and elected by his/her peers.

Rodriquez Graper SGA Representative, Aamir Greene SGA President, Dwayne Tanner SGA Representative, Alice Thomas SGA Representative, Chantel Williams SGA Representative.

National Technical Honor Society

In order to become a member of the Honor Society, a student must be enrolled at Albany Technical College and must be recommended by his/her instructor. The qualifications or criteria for recommendation include at least a 3.6 GPA for at least two consecutive quarters of course work and no grade lower than a B.

Lizzie Britton, Brian Fudge, Christine Gilmer, Melody Helm, DeKeria King, Marcus Lewis, Kristina Mathis, Whitney McDowell, Kacey Merchant, Kimberly Miller; Erin O’Connell, Samuel Pawley, Steven Powell.

GED Awards

The GED award is presented by the Adult Literacy program for recognition of students who obtained the highest score on the GED test in their counties or other accomplishment.

Herbert Bowden, Reading, Lee County. Wesley Cruit, Writing, Social Studies, Science and Reading, Calhoun County. Avery Dyes Math, Dougherty County. Johnathan Glass, Social Studies, Science, Reading, Dougherty County. Jason Harper, Science, Social Studies, Lee County. Daniel Harrell, Social Studies, Writing, Terrell County. Carlos Jones, Writing, Lee County. David Mills, Social Studies, Writing, Dougherty County. Sharon Perrine, Science, Social Studies, Calhoun County. Chase Redmond, Math, Lee County. James Redmond, Science, Reading, Math, Terrell County. Irene Standley, Math, Calhoun County. James Turner, Science, Reading, Math, Clay County. Shenika Turner, Math, Social Studies, Writing, Clay County. William Yochum, Writing, Reading, Science, Social Studies, Math, Randolph County.

Presidential Scholar

Presidential Scholar is awarded for a 3.95 - 4.0 GPA

Jemont Anderson, Joseph Barber, Ricky Bland, Roxie Boone, Michael Clinton, Misti Eubanks, Steven Garner, Sara Heath, Julia Kimmins, Donna Lawson, Robyn Malone, Samuel Pawley, Tyler Pollock, David Satterwhite, Dwayne Tanner, Jesse Teter.

Honors with Distinction

Honors with Distinction is awarded for a 3.75 - 3.94 GPA.

Andrew Baker, Trilene Barber, Bennie Benton, R.C. Clay, Kailey Culberson, Ryan Davis, Margaret Grant, John Hudgens, Tim Hundley, Tekesha Jackson, Valencia Jackson-Coley, Tony Johnson, DeKeria King, Marcus Lewis, Lula Marshall, Jacqueline Martin, Whitney McDowell, Kacey Merchant, Mitchell Milner, Contessa Morris, David Nunez, Marion Pate, Keandra Primus, Tashe’ Robinson, Brandon Sartain, Vivian Sheppard, LaPorsha Shumate, Justin Smith, Sharon Smith, Shantell Solomon, Richard Taylor, Jarquavias Ware, Dantoine Washington, Alan Williams, Cherry Wimberly, Stephanie Zakrzewski.