Lee County sweeps Region 1-AAAAA’s top awards

Coach Dean Fabrizio, QB Stephen Collier and LB Dextric Green earn top honors

Dean Fabrizio

Dean Fabrizio


Stephen Collier


Dextric Green


Charles Stafford


Octavia Jones


Trent Thompson


Cornelius Bennett


Tremel Emanuel

After a record-setting season in Leesburg, it was no surprise that the Trojans dominated the Region 1-AAAAA football awards with head coach Dean Fabrizio taking home Coach of the Year honors and linebacker Dextric Green earning Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Trojans quarterback and Ohio State commit Stephen Collier was named co-Offensive Player of the Year with Thomas County Central quarterback Adam Choice.

Collier led the Trojans to a Region 1-AAAAA championship and first-round playoff win with some of the best stats in the state (146-for-304 for 2,291 passing yards and 24 TDs and 163 carries for 1,021 yards and 20 TDs).

On the defensive end, Green finished the season with 125 tackles, 12 tackles for losses and two sacks.

“The great thing about those two is not only are they great football players, but they are great students and great kids,” Fabrizio said about Collier and Green. “They both are in honors classes and carry high-level GPAs and are hard workers and great kids.”

Area players named All-Region First Team for Region 1-AAAAA include Lee County offensive tackle Jesse Freeman, Lee County receiver JQ Quimbley, Bainbridge receiver/linebacker Greg Cooper, Bainbridge place kicker Daniel Provence, Bainbridge return specialist/defensive back Craig Cooper, Lee County defensive tackle Aubrey Solomon, Bainbridge defensive tackle Calvin Isom, Lee County defensive end Demetrius Kennedy, Lee County defensive back Quan Jamison and Bainbridge All-Purpose star Tremaine McCray.

Region 1-AAAA

The Herald’s 2012 Player of the Year and Monroe star quarterback Charles Stafford was named the Region 1-AAAA Player of the Year, while Westover defensive lineman Trent Thompson was the region’s Defensive Player of the Year and Westover’s Octavia Jones was the Coach of the Year.

Cairo running back Jeremiah Hill was named the region’s Offensive Player of the Year.

Stafford had a monster senior year, throwing for a Southwest Georgia-best 2,647 yards and 22 TDs and rushing for 306 yards and seven TDs. Thompson led Westover to a region championship and finished the year with 83 tackles, 12 sacks and 38 tackles for losses.

The Region 1-AAAA First Team Offense includes Johnathan Thomas (QB, Americus-Sumter), Shannon Saunders (RB, Westover), Wesley Fields (RB, Americus-Sumter), Landon Whitman (WR, Crisp County), Emmanuel Davis (WR, Monroe), Ricardo Sloan (WR, Dougherty), Henry Battle (OL, Americus-Sumter), Johnathan Leverette (OL, Americus-Sumter), Jeff Bradley (OL, Worth County), Breon King (OL, Crisp County) and Jaelon Benjamin (athlete, Westover).

The Region 1-AAAA First Team Defense includes Brenten Wimberly (DL, Westover), Tim McCray (DL, Monroe), Elijah Johnson (DL, Crisp County), Antravious Parks (LB, Westover), Juwon Young (LB, Albany), Antonio Leroy (LB, Monroe), Jysanti Richardson (DB, Westover), Julian Colwell (DB, Westover), Eric Burrows (DB, Worth County) and Montre Hartage (DB, Crisp County).

Westover’s Tanner Stumpe was named the region’s Kicker of the Year.

Region 1-A

Seminole County running back Javonte Smith and Randolph-Clay running back Cornelius Bennett shared the Region 1-A Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Tremel Emanuel from Mitchell County was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Smith led the region champion Indians with 602 rushing yards and five TDs, while Bennett rushed for a Southwest Georgia-best 1,342 yards and 19 TDs on 174 carries. Emanuel finished his senior season with 102 tackles and 11 tackles for losses.

The Region 1-A First Team Offense includes Bruce Bryant (QB, Mitchell County), Robert Speight (RB, Seminole County), Anfreenee Williams (RB, Mitchell County), Joshua King (TE, Mitchell County), Aaron Baskerville (TE, Seminole County), Artie Lee (WR, Randolph-Clay), Terry Emanuel (WR, Mitchell County), Sherrod Williams (WR, Calhoun County), Casey Wood (OL, Mitchell County), Stephen Kenyon (OL, Seminole County), Matthew Williams (OL, Seminole County), Nick Huntley (OL, Miller County) and Chris Moore (OL, Calhoun County).

The Region 1-A First Team Defense includes Parker Miller (DL, Seminole County), Quintin Sanders (DL, Mitchell County), Kendrick Williams (DL, Seminole County), DaJohn Williams (DL, Calhoun County), Steve Boyd (DL, Seminole County), Brendan Kimble (LB, Seminole County), Richard Sheffield (LB, Miller County), Don Bolden (LB, Randolph-Clay), Danny Rambo (DB, Seminole County), Justin Elijah (DB, Seminole County), Anthony Murray (DB, Mitchell County) and Draven Powell (DB, Calhoun County).

Seminole County kicker Matthew Williams, Mitchell County kick returner Anfreenee Williams and Calhoun County long snapper DaJohn Williams were also named to the First Region team.