Twenty-three from DWS earn AP Scholar designation

ALBANY, Ga. — The College Board has announced that 13 2013 Deerfield-Windsor School graduates and 10 current seniors have earned AP Scholar designation based on their performances on the 2013 advanced placement examinations.

AP courses are college-level courses taught in high school, and students can earn college credit with acceptable scores on the nationally standardized examinations.

“Our graduates performed well on the AP exams, but I am especially pleased for our 10 current seniors who have achieved AP Scholar recognition,” Deerfield-Windsor Headmaster Dave Davies said. “With more opportunities in the 2013-2014 school year, they have a chance to reach even higher levels. This accomplishment is also a significant validation of the high level of instruction our teachers provide and of the strength of our curriculum.”

To be designated as an AP Scholar, a student must post passing scores on at least three AP exams. Scholars with Honor must pass four exams and have a prescribed average score, and Scholars with Distinction pass at least five exams with an even higher average score.

Six members of the Class of 2013 earned AP Scholar status: Rachel Allen, Olivia Carlson, Lexie Harrison, Davis Hines, Marlee Skinner and Bailey Weed. Nine seniors — Anna Cowart, Madison Crosby, Taylor Grandinetti, Benjamin Hoopes, Mary Catherine Kelley, Dallas Knight, Nathan McLendon, Amy Rao and Amelia Warrington — were recognized.

Scholars with Honor were William Ashley, Mackenzie Hudson, and Kate Kimbrel, all Class of 2013.

Four graduates and one senior earned Scholar with Distinction: Kathleen Cunningham, Emily Garland, Pete Langstaff, Emily McPeters and Kaitlyn Yarborough.