Area schools poised to open new school year

ALBANY, Ga. -- Southwest Georgia schools are set to open their doors within the next several weeks as Worth and Terrell counties welcome back students on July 29.

Things will be a little different this year for the Dougherty County School System. This spring, the Board of Education approved a School Closure and Consolidation Plan that made necessary the rezoning of all of the district's existing school zones.


July 29

Worth County

Terrell County

Aug. 1

Calhoun County

Aug. 5

Dougherty County

Mitchell County

Aug. 7

Baker County

Aug. 8

Terrell Academy (1/2 day)

Westwood School

Aug. 9

Lee County

Sherwood Christian Academy

Byne Christian Academy

Aug. 15

Deerfield-Windsor School

The closures and rezoning provide an opportunity for the system to save millions of dollars and to operate more efficiently and allocate more resources directly to student instruction.

DCSS officials stressed that parents need to be made aware of some critical events and dates to assure a smooth start to the 2013-14 school year:

JULY 22-31

Student Registration in all schools between 9 a.m. and 2 p.m. daily.

AUG. 1

Open House in all schools:

4 to 6 p.m. for elementary schools;

5 to 7 p.m. for middle schools;

6 to 8 p.m. for 9th graders and students new to high school in all grades.

AUG. 5

School Begins

Bell times:

8 a.m. elementary day begins;

8:15 a.m. middle school day begins;

8:45 a.m. high school day begins.

After Worth and Terrell counties open, Calhoun County will follow on Aug. 1. On Aug. 5, Dougherty and Mitchell county schools open, followed by Baker County on Aug.7.

On Aug. 8, Terrell Academy will open for one-half day and Westwood School in Camilla also welcomes students.

On Aug. 9, Lee County, Sherwood Christian and Byne Christian begin classes.

Deefield-Windsor students will be back in class on Aug. 15.