Dougherty County School System to name 2014-15 Teacher of the Year on Thursday

One of eight finalists to be selected as DCSS's top teacher


Sarah Bivens


Victoria Brackins


Sandra Masters


Jennifer Lewis-Polite


Patricia Littleton


Yolanda Bryant


Tracey Wingfield


Martez Favis

ALBANY — The Dougherty County School System will name its 2014-15 Teacher of the Year at a banquet Thursday at 5:30 at the Hilton Garden Inn. Retiring educators will also be recognized.

This year’s nominees were drawn from all 24 schools in the district before finally being whittled down to eight finalists.

“We’d like to congratulate all 24 Dougherty County School System Teachers of the Year,” DCSS Public Information R.D. Harter said. “Thank you for representing your school as committed professional educators and thank you for serving our students and community with all that it takes to be recognized as one of our very best. Every school-level Teacher of the Year is certainly a winner and deserves our appreciation.

“While all are winners and represent their schools as Teacher of the Year, the in-house screening committee reviewed the nomination packages and selected eight finalists to compete for the title of DCSS Teacher of the Year.”

The eight finalists are:

Victoria Green Brackins, Albany High School; Sarah Bivins, Dougherty Comprehensive High School; Tracey L. Wingfield, Radium Springs Middle Magnet School of the Arts; Sandra Kay Masters, Jackson Heights Elementary School; Yolanda Maria Bryant, Lamar Reese Magnet School of the Arts; Jennifer Lewis-Polite, Lincoln Elementary Magnet School; Patricia Ann Littleton, Live Oak Elementary School; and Martez Favis, Sherwood Acres Elementary School.

In addition to the eight finalists, Dougherty County’s other 2014-15 Teacher of the Year nominees are:

Tyleen Jeter, Monroe Comprehensive High School; Mitchel Carthon, Westover Comprehensive High School; Zelda White-Davis, Albany Middle School; Jonathan Pierce, Merry Acres Middle School; Kivea Burroughs, Robert A. Cross Middle Magnet School; Renee Shackleford, Southside Middle School; Lisa Williams, Alice Coachman Elementary School; Tammatha K. Graddic, International Studies Elementary Charter School; Donna Butler, Lake Park Elementary School; Jocylin B. James, Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary School; Sheila Dyson, Morningside Elementary School; Yolanda Kendrick, Northside Elementary School; Katrina Crawford, Radium Springs Elementary School; Samuel McPhee, Jr., Turner Elementary School; Katrena Robinson, West Town Elementary School; and Priscilla Thomas, SGRAC.

The Georgia Teacher of the Year program is a statewide public-private partnership that seeks to bring positive attention and honor to the teaching profession.

Last year, Dougherty County’s Teacher of the Year was Lamar Reese Elementary Magnet School second-grade teacher Melissa Childs.