0

Former Secret Service agent hosting book signing in Albany

Former Secret Service agent Don Brewer will be signing books at Books A Million

Author and retired Secret Service agent Donald Brewer will be holding a book signing for his debut work “Worthy of Trust and Confidence” at Books A Million in Albany Saturday from 2 p.m. until 4 p.m. (Special photo)

Author and retired Secret Service agent Donald Brewer will be holding a book signing for his debut work “Worthy of Trust and Confidence” at Books A Million in Albany Saturday from 2 p.m. until 4 p.m. (Special photo)

ALBANY — Author and former U.S. Secret Service agent Donald Brewer will be visiting Albany’s Books A Million Saturday to sign copies of his debut book “Worthy of Trust and Confidence.”

A resident of Cotopaxi, Colo. and St. Simon’s Island, who grew up in Macon, Brewer is currently at work touring the country promoting his first novel. He will be at Book’s A Million Saturday from 2 p.m. until 4 p.m. signing copies of his book and meeting new fans.

According to Brewer, an avid reader all his life, he began writing the novel more than 20 years ago as a hobby to pass the time while travelling on various protection duty and counterfeit currency assignments during his years as an active agent.

“I got tired of watching all the movies on airplanes, so I started writing,” Brewer said. “I just started writing what I knew about and what I would like to read.”

After retiring from the Secret Service and battling throat cancer, Brewer returned to the hobby he had started years before and in just 18 months he completed his novel.

Laid out like a classic Western mystery in the vein of Louis L’Amour, “Worthy of Trust and Confidence” is set in the Old West of 1898 and follows main character Secret Service Agent Will Scott as he encounters a cast of frontier characters such as bank robbers and crooked politicians, while also making time for a love interest.

“I thought of the story idea and did it all in my head,” said Brewer of the process that led to the book. “It just played out like a movie in my head.”

Not originally planned as a book for any specific age group, “Worthy of Trust and Confidence” was slightly reworked just before publishing as a novel for young adults.

“It was written as an adult book,” Brewer said. “It doesn’t have any bad language, and no sex, drugs and rock and roll, but it does have adult themes.”

Brewer said that when he started showing it to publishers, he was given the suggestion to position the book for young adults ages 13 and up to appeal to a wider audience.

Taking the suggestion, but not wanting to totally rewrite the book, Brewer added a prologue and an epilogue that added a trio of cousins doing research for a family history project.

Through their research the trio become fascinated by the main characters and follow the story through their eyes. While the additions helped to make the novel more appealing to a younger audience it also helped to set the stage for a series of follow up books, the first of which should be available later this year.

“The children are in the second book throughout,” said Brewer. “It’s set in Cripple Creek, Colo., and again focuses on counterfeiting, this time counterfeit gold coins. I’ve got the first draft done and I hope to have it published in the first of October.”

“Worthy of Trust and Confidence” is available in paperback at Books A Million and as an e-book for Kindle through Amazon. Brewer is also working on having a book on tape version of the novel completed as well.

Anyone wanting more information about the author or the book can visit Brewer’s website at www.donbrewerbooks.com.