ASU Student Government Association to host primary candidate forum

National, state, local candidates to appear at Dougherty Democratic Committee forum

ALBANY — The Student Government Association at Albany State University will host the Dougherty County Democratic Committee’s 2014 primary election candidate forum Thursday at ASU’s ACAD Auditorium.

Candidates running for the United States Senate, the Georgia House of Represetatives (districts 151 and 153), the Dougherty County School Board (Districts 4 and 6) and the Dougherty County Commission (Districts 4 and 6 and the chairmanship) have been invited to attend the forum, which will start at 6 p.m.

“A fundamental responsibility of the Dougherty County Democratic Committee is to seek and encourage qualified candidates for public office,” Dougherty Democratic Committee Chair Constance Burkes said in a letter to forum participants. “(Candidates involved in the forum) have responded to all qualifying requirements for the offices (they) are seeking and have responded in the affirmative for (their) participation in the scheduled forum.

“We expect candidates to be respectful to all other forum participants and remain present throughout the forum. We encourage candidates to bring signs and campaign literature to share with forum attendees and to bring their support group.”

Specific questions for candiadates at the forum were sought by the Dougherty Democratic Committee and submitted by a large number of interested parties throughout the community.

Among the candidates who have indicated they will attend the forum are U.S. Senate hopefuls Steen Miles, Branko Radulovacki and Todd Anthony Robinson; Georgia House 151 candidates Gerald Green and Ezekial Holley; House 153 candidates Darrel Ealum, Muarlean Edwards and Carol Fullerton; Dougherty County Commission candidates Christopher Cohilas and Gloria Gaines (both seeking the chairmanship); Pat Garner, Ewell Lyle and Tracy Taylor (District 4); Anthony Jones and Jack Stone (District 6); and Dougherty School Board candidates Aaron Johnson and Melissa Strother (District 4); and Shirlette Davis-Marcus, Princess Milledge and Dean Phinazee (District 6).