isakson students.jpg

U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson hosted high school seniors from across Georgia who have been accepted into U.S. military service academies at a reception in Atlanta.

PARIS, France – U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., announced recently the names of 35 high school seniors from across Georgia who were accepted into U.S. military service academies for fall 2019. Isakson congratulated the students at a reception he hosted in their honor.

Isakson nominated 28 of the 35 students appointed to the U.S. military service academies. One student, Beth Miller of Roswell, received a presidential nomination. Six of the 35 students were accepted to the U.S. Coast Guard Academy and the U.S. Coast Guard Academy Preparatory School, which do not require a Congressional nomination.

“I commend all of the students who have received appointments to our nation’s prestigious military academies,” Isakson said. “These highly sought-after appointments are a testament to these students’ achievements in the classroom and well beyond, and I thank them for choosing to put their talents to use in service of our nation.”

Members of Congress are tasked with nominating students to attend our nation’s military academies annually. Those nominees who are accepted into the academies are awarded full four-year scholarships that include tuition, books, room and board, medical and dental care.

Isakson held a congratulatory reception for the students and their families in Atlanta.

The students accepted by the academies are:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Gabrielle Auerbach – Kennesaw, Kennesaw Mountain High School

Gabriel Bartolomei – Tyrone, Sandy Creek High School

Zachary Franklin – Roswell, Lassiter High School

Dane Kinamon – Peachtree City, McIntosh High School

Dalton Malone – Blackshear, Pierce County High School

Alyson Phinney – Peachtree City, Starr’s Mill High School

Emma Kate Smith – Adairsville, Calhoun High School

Zachary Szvetecz – Cumming, West Forsyth High School

Justin Waldman – Acworth, North Paulding High School

U.S. Air Force Academy Preparatory School

Jamsen Mendoza – Athens, Clarke Central High School

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

John “Jack” Buckley – McDonough, Eagles’ Landing Christian Academy

Stephen Hess – Sharpsburg, Northgate High School

Blake Jennings – Snellville, Brookwood High School

Conner McKittrick – Cumming, Holy Spirit Preparatory School

Alexander Roberson – Atlanta, Maynard Jackson High School

U.S. Military Academy at West Point

Randall Batson III – Cumming, Mount Pisgah Christian School/Marion Military Institute

Louis Burts Jr. – Atlanta, Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School

Rylee Calhoun – Peachtree City, McIntosh High School

Emmett Lepp – Marietta, Blessed Trinity Catholic High School

Caroline Maurer – Canton, Cherokee High School/Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Connor McGurk – Marietta, Georgia Virtual School/University of Georgia

Miles Silva – Savannah, Benedictine Military School

Sawyer Williams – Lula, North Hall High School

U.S. Naval Academy

Margaret Cleary – Dunwoody, St. Pius X Catholic High School/Naval Academy Preparatory School

Eleanor Deas – Alpharetta, Centennial High School

Jason Hamil – Statham, North Oconee High School

William Meshad – Atlanta, Holy Innocents’ Episcopal School/Naval Academy Preparatory School

Beth Miller – Roswell, Blessed Trinity Catholic High School (Presidential nomination)

Thomas Rankin – Atlanta, The Westminster Schools

U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Tyler Bland – Pooler

Brendan Bowman – Young Harris

Hayden Hendricks – Milledgeville

U.S. Coast Guard Academy Preparatory School

Andrew Nicholl – Acworth

Lauren Oakes – Alpharetta

Logan Sewell – Douglasville

Recommended for you

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.