Dougherty County School System announces 2017-18 Teacher of Year finalists

International Studies Elementary Charter School Spanish Teacher Lidia Olds shows off her 2016-17 Teacher of the Year ring last year at the Dougherty County School System’s annual TOTY banquet. The 2017-18 banquet will be held Thursday night at the Hilton Garden Inn. (Herald File Photo)

ALBANY — The Dougherty County School System has announced the eight finalists for its Teacher of the Year.

The 2017-18 Teacher of the Year Dinner will be at 5:30 p.m. Thursday at the Hilton Garden Inn on Front Street. The system also will recognize its retiring educators at the event.

The finalists are Chevonne Denson, Dougherty High School; Jasamine Dixon, Albany Middle School; Jacqueline Floyd, Westover High School; Torre’ Mills, Monroe High School; Rebecca Strickland, Lake Park Elementary School; Jordan Waller, Martin Luther King Elementary School; Shane Williams, Lincoln Magnet School, and Lydia Zuern, Sherwood Acres Elementary School.

“The Teacher of the Year is important to us in that it helps us publicize the fact that we have so many good teachers in the Dougherty County School System,” DCSS Superintendent Butch Mosely said. “It’s an opportunity for them to get the attention they deserve.

“All the candidates are top quality and represent the best our school system has to offer.”

Following the selection of school-level honorees, a screening committee reviews each nomination package and provides a list of the eight finalists for selection to the county-wide honor. The members of the System Selection Committee then visit each of the eight finalists to observe classroom practices and teaching strategies, scoring each candidate.

The Teachers of the Year in the Dougherty County School System in addition to the eight finalists are Trakeymea Baisden, Pre-K Center; Patricia Bentley, Alice Coachman; Patricia Brown, College and Career Learning Performance Center; LaNia Dowdy, Lamar Reese; Ty Hayes, Radium Middle; Littla Hayslip, Robert Cross; Chiekara Jackson, Morningside; Richard Kennedy Jr., Turner; La’Toya Mobley, Radium Elementary; Tiffaney Randle, Robert Harvey; Renee Shackleford, Live Oak; Patricia Singleton, South Georgia Regional Achievement Center; Tammi Spann, Southside; Lauren Striplin, International Studies Charter Elementary School; Yneikia Toney, Northside; Dawn Whitaker, West Town, and Yasmine White, Merry Acres.

The 2016-17 DCSS Teacher of the Year was Lidia Olds of International Studies Elementary.

Beginning Monday, The Albany Herald will publish two profiles per day on each of the eight finalists.

Stay Informed