MLB: Baseball Hall of Fame-Induction Ceremony

Hall of Fame inductee Tom Glavine makes his acceptance speech during the class of 2014 national baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony at National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame Chairman of the Board Jane Forbes Clark announced Thursday that Craig Biggio, Tom Glavine and Ken Griffey Jr. have been elected to the Board of Directors for the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

“We are thrilled to welcome Craig Biggio, Tom Glavine and Ken Griffey Jr. to the Board of Directors of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum,” Clark said. “As players, Craig, Tom and Ken were each known for their passion for the game and their leadership. Since being elected as Members of the Hall of Fame, they have all demonstrated their continuing commitment to baseball and to this institution. Their vision will help guide the Museum toward the future while it remains focused on its mission to preserve history, honor excellence and connect generations.”

Biggio was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2015 following a 20-year career spent entirely with the Astros. A seven-time All-Star and member of the 3,000-hit club, Biggio excelled as a catcher, second baseman and outfielder while earning four Gold Glove Awards.

Glavine won 305 games for the Braves and Mets during 22 big league seasons, winning the National League Cy Young Award in both 1991 and 1998. A 10-time All-Star, the 2014 Hall of Fame electee was named the 1995 World Series Most Valuable Player for leading the Braves to their first World Series title in Atlanta.

Elected to the Hall of Fame in 2016 with what was then a record percentage of the vote, Griffey Jr. hit 630 home runs over 22 seasons with the Mariners, Reds and White Sox. A 10-time Gold Glove Award winner in center field, Griffey was named to 13 All-Star Games and won the 1997 American League Most Valuable Player Award.

In addition to Board Chairman Jane Forbes Clark, whose grandfather, Stephen C. Clark, founded the Hall of Fame, the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors also includes: Treasurer Kevin Moore, Paul Beeston, Bill DeWitt, Ken Kendrick, Rob Manfred, Arte Moreno, Jerry Reinsdorf, Cal Ripken Jr., Brooks Robinson, Harvey Schiller, Ozzie Smith, Ed Stack and Thomas Tull. Complete bios on the 17-member Board can be found at

The Board of Directors also reviewed Curt Schilling’s request to be removed from the 2022 Baseball Writers’ Association of America Hall of Fame ballot. In a unanimous decision, the request was denied. Schilling will remain eligible for the BBWAA ballot for the 10th-and-final time in 2022.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Trending Videos