BROOKFIELD, Ill. — Two Albany State University football players have earned a spot on the 2019 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-Super Region Two squad, according to a release by The Don Hansen Football Committee.

Safety Tyler Scott and punter Gabriel Ballinas earned spots in the second and third teams.

The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Illinois., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.

The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2019 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team will be selected.

The Super Region Two Offensive Player of the Year was awarded to Valdosta State quarterback Rogan Wells. The Defensive Player of the Year went to Demetrius Harris of Fort Valley State and the Special Teams Player of the Year to placekicker Jefferson Souza of Virginia Union. West Florida quarterback Austin Reed earned Super Region Two Freshman of the Year and Pete Shinnick of West Florida Coach of the Year.

Stay Informed

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.