Smith Pinson

Baconton sophomore Smith Pinson was selected as “Co-pitcher of the Year” by the Region 1-A coaches, not his brother Stone as was reported earlier. Stone was named defensive player of the year.

EDITOR'S NOTE: Due to incorrect and omitted information, this story has been corrected and updated.

The high school baseball season is in the books and three teams from Region 1-A dominated the region awards chosen by the region coaches. Baconton Charter, Pelham and Seminole County all advanced deep into the Class A playoffs with Seminole County getting into the Elite 8 before falling to eventual state champion Gordon Lee.

Baconton earned the region championship and finished the season 23-7 while Seminole County took second place and finished the season 21-10 and Pelham was third with a 21-8 record.

Baconton's Spencer Culp and Pelham's Cale Whigham shared the Player of Year award. Both recently signed college baseball scholarships. Baconton sophomore Smith Pinson shared the Pitcher of the Year award with Seminole County's Aubrey Johnson.

Three players shared the offensive player of the year award - Doug Curles of Pelham, Grant Smitchwick of Baconton and Chase Smith of Seminole County. The defensive player of the year award was shared by Javorius McDaniel of Seminole and Stone Pinson of Baconton.

Pataula Charter freshman Andrew Hartsfield earned the freshman of the year award.

Six Baconton Blazers made the All-Region team and the coaching staff of  Bubber Birdsong, Devyn Newberry and Blake Pollock were selected as the coaching staff of the year. The six Blazers on the All-Region team included ackson Bostick, Jacob Smith, Bo Schwarm, Payne Bowles, Lawson Creech and Hadon High.

The rest of the Region 1-A team:

Chase Smith- Seminole County

Peyton Price- Seminole County

Hunter Hodges-Seminole County

Jalen Allen- Terrell County

Brandon Melton- Terrell County

Rasheed Jenkins- Webster County

Tanner Matthews- Webster County

Matthew Weeks-Webster

Cruz Wills-Webster

Dylan Johnson- Miller County

Roland Godfrey-Miller

Kyle Alexander-Miller

Levi Jacobs- Pelham

Gage Cleveland- Pataula Charter Academy

Hunter Bantz-PCA

Jason Bostick- Baconton


Shytavion Johnson-Terrell

Jadarious Robinson-Terrell

Brady Brunson-Miller

Holden Richardson-Miller

Hunter Pearce-Webster

Ashton Childree-Seminole

Ty Williams-Seminole

Stay Informed